Skip to main content

About Our School

our history

The first public school for boys in Pensacola was organized in 1870. A two-story building on Wright Street was erected by the School Board in 1875. It was known as the Pensacola Academy. In 1886, a new building was erected on Lee Square, known as Public School No. 1. In 1905, the four-year high school was organized in the Public School No. 1 building. 

Pensacola High is recognized as having Florida's oldest high school football program, girl's basketball program, and school year book.

 

School IMprovement

Contact information    850-595-1500

School Secretary:

Yolanda Thomas            ythomas@ecsdfl.us

 

Student Records & Attendance:

Keturah Blackwell                          KBlackwell@ecsdfl.us

 

Student Registration & Data:

Melva Knight            MKnight2@ecsdfl.us

 

ESE Office Secretary:

Linda Lambert
llambert@ecsdfl.us

 

Guidance Secretary:

Evelyn Pate                    epate@ecsdfl.us

 

IB Secretary:                     

Kathy Lynch
klynch2@ecsdfl.us

 

Principal's Secretary:

Sherita Johnson      SJohnson7@ecsdfl.us

 

IT Specialist:

William Hatcher        whatcher@ecsdfl.us

 

Testing Coordinator:    

Roderick Williams rwilliams7@ecsdfl.us

 

PHS

Home of the tigers   _________________________________________                                                                 

click here to learn about our most recent US NEws best high schools ranking!

What we offer

The only IB: International Baccalaureate program in Escambia County

17 AP Courses

4 On-Campus Dual Enrollment Courses

6 Career Academy Programs 

20 Sports Teams

Over 40 Student Clubs

Dedicated faculty and staff, many of whom have advanced degrees

 

Mission statement

Provide an environment for all students to achieve their highest potential, while building a foundation for continuous learning.

• Closing the Achievement Gap

• Increasing Proficiency in Learning

• Working in Unity

 

vision statement

Create a school where parents want to send their children, students want to learn, teachers want to teach, and employees want to work.

PHS

location

Pensacola High School is located near downtown Pensacola at      500 W. Maxwell Street,            Pensacola, FL 32501                        

PHS Map

Bell schedule & Calendars